Tools

Networking Tools for Finance and Consulting Students, Compared (2026)

Forty tools students use to reach bankers, consultants and investors, checked on each vendor’s own website: which ones find people, write the emails, send them and follow up, and what each costs.

Paperclip makes one of the services on this list. Its row is marked as ours. Every other row comes from that vendor’s own website, and a blank means the vendor’s pages do not say.

The four jobs, tool by tool

Every tool below answers the same questions differently: who finds the people, who writes each email, whether it sends for you and from whose inbox, and who remembers the follow-up. “Partly” means the vendor describes a piece of it, such as reminders instead of sent follow-ups. “Not stated” means its pages do not say either way.

What each tool says it does, from its own website, October 26, 2026
ToolFinds peopleWrites emailsSends for youFrom your inboxFollows upPrice
Paperclip Concierge
Ours
YesYesYesYesYes$149 a month, first 14 days free
Student networking and outreach tools
NextCoffeeYesYesPartlyYesPartlyPrivate beta and waitlist; no price published
BreakInYesYesYesNot statedYesFree plan; Premium $50 a month
OfferPathPartlyYesNoYesPartlyFree plan; Pro $14.99 a month or $59 for six months
GEN-MAXPartlyYesYesYesYesFrom £39 a month; 25 free credits
ReachOutYesYesNoYesNot statedFree, 3 actions a day; Pro $8 a month
AncadYesYesNoYesNot statedFree, 50 drafts a month; Starter $9.99 a month
AI email writers
NetworkAI (Wonsulting)YesYesNot statedNot statedNot stated$19.99 a month in WonsultingAI Premium
Recruiting platforms
RecruitUPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree for students
Elevate Career NetworkNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot published
Coastal Haven PartnersNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree for candidates
Handshake messagesPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot published
Alumni, mentor and coaching networks
FINNECT (Elevate Lab)PartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot published
ModernGuildPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree for students
FishbowlNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot published
Leland livestreamsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree livestreams
Wall Street Oasis MentorsPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated$57 to $997 a package
Wall Street Oasis AcademyPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated$7,000 upfront; $8,000 or $10,600 on payment plans
PeopleGrovePartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedLicensed by schools
Graduway (Gravyty)PartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedLicensed by schools
FirsthandPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot published
LinkedIn Premium CareerPartlyPartlyNot statedNot statedNot stated$39.99 a month or $239.88 a year
ProtopiaPartlyNot statedYesNot statedNot statedLicensed by schools
Trackers and CRMs
HuntrPartlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree plan; Pro $40 a month
TealNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedPartlyFree plan; Teal+ $29 per 30 days
SimplifyYesYesNot statedNot statedPartlyFree tools; networking allowance not stated
CareerflowNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree plan; Premium $8.99 a week
StreakPartlyNot statedYesYesYesFree email tools; Pro $59 a month ($49 billed yearly)
WeaverNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedPartlyFree plan; Pro $5 a month or $50 a year
Superday AIPartlyYesNoNot statedPartlyNot published
Contact finders
LinkedIn Sales NavigatorPartlyPartlyNot statedNot statedNot stated$119.99 a month (Core) or $159.99 (Advanced)
ApolloYesYesYesYesYesFree plan; paid prices did not load when checked
HunterYesYesYesYesYesFree plan; Starter $49 a month ($34 billed yearly)
ContactOutYesYesNot statedNot statedNot statedPlan prices did not load when checked
LushaYesNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFree plan with 40 credits a month
Mail merge and sales email tools
YAMM (Yet Another Mail Merge)Not statedNot statedYesYesPartlyFree for 20 recipients a day
MailmeteorYesYesYesYesYesFree for 500 emails a month; paid from $5.99 a month
GMassPartlyYesYesYesYesFrom $29.95 a month
lemlistYesYesYesYesYesFrom $69 a month ($55 billed yearly)
InstantlyYesYesYesYesYesOutreach from $47 a month
SmartleadYesPartlyYesYesYesFrom $39 a month ($32 billed yearly)

Student networking and outreach tools

  • NextCoffee: Public site offers a private beta and waitlist. Shows a reviewed send queue and suggested follow-up timing. Private beta and waitlist; no price published.
  • BreakIn: Premium includes 1,000 scheduled emails. The site does not say whose inbox sends them. Free plan; Premium $50 a month.
  • OfferPath: Drafts finance networking emails with your resume attached. You click send on each one. Free plan; Pro $14.99 a month or $59 for six months.
  • GEN-MAX: UK student outreach to firms, sent from your Gmail with up to three touches that stop on reply. Finds firms, not named analysts. From £39 a month; 25 free credits.
  • ReachOut: Finds work emails from LinkedIn profiles and opens a Gmail draft for you to send. Free, 3 actions a day; Pro $8 a month.
  • Ancad: Reveals emails, drafts the note, opens it in your Gmail. You press send. Free, 50 drafts a month; Starter $9.99 a month.

AI email writers

  • NetworkAI (Wonsulting): Drafts LinkedIn notes and cold emails for job seekers. $19.99 a month in WonsultingAI Premium.

Recruiting platforms

Alumni, mentor and coaching networks

  • FINNECT (Elevate Lab): Opt-in matching with finance peers for video calls. Not published.
  • ModernGuild: Mentors and employer introductions, not a contact database. Free for students.
  • Fishbowl: Professional discussion communities. Not published.
  • Leland livestreams: Free livestreams where you meet peers. Coaching is sold separately. Free livestreams.
  • Wall Street Oasis Mentors: Paid sessions with mentors you choose. $57 to $997 a package.
  • Wall Street Oasis Academy: Templates and a networking process inside a coaching program. Optional guarantee adds $4,000. $7,000 upfront; $8,000 or $10,600 on payment plans.
  • PeopleGrove: Alumni who joined your school’s platform. Licensed by schools.
  • Graduway (Gravyty): Alumni who joined your school’s community. Licensed by schools.
  • Firsthand: Career resources with a find-a-mentor entry point. Not published.
  • LinkedIn Premium Career: 5 InMail credits a month. LinkedIn says InMail gets 5.7x more replies than cold email (its own claim). $39.99 a month or $239.88 a year.
  • Protopia: Your school routes your question to alumni who opted in. Licensed by schools.

Trackers and CRMs

  • Huntr: Tracks contacts you add yourself. Free plan; Pro $40 a month.
  • Teal: Templates for each job stage; you send them. Free plan; Teal+ $29 per 30 days.
  • Simplify: Maps your connections to jobs and drafts messages. Free tools; networking allowance not stated.
  • Careerflow: Job search tools with a networking tracker. Free plan; Premium $8.99 a week.
  • Streak: A CRM inside Gmail. Mail merge with automatic follow-ups; you bring the contacts. Free email tools; Pro $59 a month ($49 billed yearly).
  • Weaver: Student networking CRM: contacts, Gmail threads you label, call notes, reminders. Free plan; Pro $5 a month or $50 a year.
  • Superday AI: Investment banking networking CRM with outreach templates and reminders. Not published.

Contact finders

  • LinkedIn Sales Navigator: 50 InMail credits a month. Finds profiles, not email addresses. $119.99 a month (Core) or $159.99 (Advanced).
  • Apollo: Sales prospecting platform. Its terms say you use it “for business purposes and not as a consumer.” Free plan; paid prices did not load when checked.
  • Hunter: Finds and verifies work emails; sequences send from your inbox with up to five follow-ups. Free plan; Starter $49 a month ($34 billed yearly).
  • ContactOut: Email and phone lookup with AI personalization. Plan prices did not load when checked.
  • Lusha: Email reveal costs one credit, phone five. Free plan with 40 credits a month.

Mail merge and sales email tools

  • YAMM (Yet Another Mail Merge): Mail merge from Google Sheets. Its terms describe use for your business purposes. Free for 20 recipients a day.
  • Mailmeteor: Mail merge in your own Gmail, with contact search and AI writing. Free for 500 emails a month; paid from $5.99 a month.
  • GMass: Mail merge in Gmail. Builds lists from your existing Gmail messages. From $29.95 a month.
  • lemlist: Sales sequencer with a prospect database and AI writing. From $69 a month ($55 billed yearly).
  • Instantly: Sales outreach platform. Its terms limit use to business sales, marketing, recruiting and business development. Outreach from $47 a month.
  • Smartlead: Sales sequencer; AI drafting depends on plan. From $39 a month ($32 billed yearly).

Best networking tools for investment banking

Banks fill summer analyst classes more than a year ahead, and the students who get interviews have usually talked to someone at the firm first. The student tools that name investment banking on their own sites are NextCoffee, BreakIn, Elevate Career Network, FINNECT (Elevate Lab), Coastal Haven Partners, ModernGuild, Wall Street Oasis Mentors, Wall Street Oasis Academy, OfferPath and GEN-MAX. Analysts and associates answer students from their own school more than anyone else, so whichever tool you use, start with alumni. Paperclip’s database has more than 12,300 people at 90 banks, and our school alumni pages show how many went to your school.

Best networking tools for private equity

Few tools are built for private equity. The ones that name it on their own sites are Elevate Career Network, FINNECT (Elevate Lab), Coastal Haven Partners, Wall Street Oasis Mentors, Wall Street Oasis Academy and OfferPath. Large private equity firms mostly hire associates who are already investment banking analysts, through on-cycle recruiting run by headhunters, so an undergraduate’s private equity network usually starts with bankers and with the firms’ own early programs, listed in our freshman and sophomore programs guide. Paperclip’s database has more than 2,200 people at private equity firms.

Best networking tools for McKinsey, BCG and Bain

The student tools that name consulting on their own sites are NextCoffee, BreakIn, RecruitU, ModernGuild, Wall Street Oasis Mentors, Wall Street Oasis Academy, OfferPath and GEN-MAX. Consulting firms run interviews through school recruiting calendars, and a referral or a strong conversation with a consultant from your school helps you get one. Paperclip’s database has more than 14,900 consultants, and our MBB tools guide shows how many work at each of the three firms.

Sales email tools and student use

Apollo, Hunter, Mailmeteor, lemlist and Instantly are the only tools here that say they find contacts, write with AI, send automatically from your inbox and follow up. They are built for sales teams. Apollo’s terms say you use it “for business purposes and not as a consumer.” Instantly’s terms limit use to business sales, marketing, recruiting and business development. YAMM’s terms describe use “solely for Your business purposes.” Read the terms before you point one at bankers, and keep each email to one person with a real reason to talk. Hunter’s own data shows replies fall as the list grows.

Which tools get the best reply rates?

Paperclip’s networking emails get 7 to 12% replies, against 1 to 5% for typical cold email. Sales tools publish benchmarks for their own customers, mostly sales teams, from 0.45% to 4.5%. The biggest difference is the email itself: Hunter found sequences sent to 21 to 50 people got 6.2% replies, against 2.4% for sequences over 500. The full set of figures, with how each was measured, is in our cold email reply rates guide.

How we checked

On October 26, 2026 we loaded each vendor’s home, pricing, features, help and terms pages and recorded only what those pages state. Review sites, forums and other roundups were used to find tools, never as a source for a fact. We created no accounts and started no trials, so this describes what each vendor says, not a test of the product. Prices are as shown on the day, in US dollars except GEN-MAX, which prices in pounds. RocketReach is left out because its pages returned no readable product information. Vendors change plans often, so check the price before you buy.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best networking tool for finance students?

It depends on which part you need done. To find people for free, use LinkedIn, your school’s alumni platform or RecruitU. To get help writing, OfferPath, ReachOut and Ancad draft emails you send yourself. To have emails sent and followed up automatically, sales tools such as Apollo, Hunter, Mailmeteor, lemlist and Instantly do it from your inbox once you build the list. Paperclip Concierge does all four for you, alumni from your school first, for $149 a month.

Which networking tools send emails for you?

Of the 40 tools we checked on October 26, 2026, Apollo, Hunter, Mailmeteor, lemlist and Instantly say they send automatically from your own inbox and follow up. BreakIn and GEN-MAX schedule sends for students. OfferPath, ReachOut and Ancad write the draft and you press send. Paperclip Concierge sends from your own Gmail or Outlook and stops following up when someone replies.

Are there free networking tools for investment banking?

Yes. BreakIn, RecruitU, Coastal Haven Partners, ModernGuild, OfferPath, Weaver, ReachOut and Ancad have free plans or free student access on their own sites. LinkedIn and your school’s alumni directory are free to search. Paperclip’s school alumni lookup, which shows which firms hire from your school, is free without an account.

Is NextCoffee available?

On October 26, 2026, NextCoffee’s website offered a private beta and a waitlist, and did not publish a price. Public site offers a private beta and waitlist. Shows a reviewed send queue and suggested follow-up timing.

Can students use Apollo or Instantly for networking?

Read the terms first. Apollo’s terms say you use the service “for business purposes and not as a consumer.” Instantly’s terms describe business sales, marketing, recruiting and business development. Both are built for sales teams sending to prospect lists.

How is Paperclip different from BreakIn?

BreakIn is software for investment banking and consulting students: free plan; premium $50 a month, and its site says it automates outreach, follow-ups and tracking. Premium includes 1,000 scheduled emails. The site does not say whose inbox sends them. Paperclip Concierge is a service: it picks the analysts and associates, writes each email from your resume, sends from your own Gmail or Outlook and follows up, for $149 a month.

What is the best networking tool for private equity?

Few tools are built for private equity. Of the ones we checked, Elevate Career Network, FINNECT (Elevate Lab), Coastal Haven Partners, Wall Street Oasis Mentors, Wall Street Oasis Academy and OfferPath name private equity on their own sites. Large firms mostly hire associates out of banking analyst classes, so undergraduates usually start with bankers. Paperclip’s database has more than 2,200 people at private equity firms and more than 12,300 at banks.

What is the best networking tool for McKinsey, BCG and Bain?

NextCoffee, BreakIn, RecruitU, ModernGuild, Wall Street Oasis Mentors, Wall Street Oasis Academy, OfferPath and GEN-MAX name consulting on their own sites. Consultants answer students from their own school most, so start with alumni. Paperclip’s database has more than 14,900 consultants. Our MBB guide covers the firm-by-firm numbers.

Or have the whole thing done for you

Paperclip Concierge picks analysts and associates at the firms you choose, alumni from your school first, writes each email from your resume and sends it from your own inbox every weekday, with follow-ups that stop when someone replies. $149 a month, first 14 days free.

Start 14 days free

Students using Paperclip have heard back from McKinsey, Morgan Stanley, J.P. Morgan, Rothschild & Co, Oliver Wyman and 66 more firms: 84 replies so far. See what they wrote

Sources

Each vendor page we loaded on October 26, 2026:

Related guides