Pay

Summer Internship Pay in Banking, Consulting and Trading (2027)

What summer analysts and interns are paid at Piper Sandler, Deutsche Bank, Blackstone, Bain, Two Sigma, Citadel and D. E. Shaw, from the pay the firms post on their own Summer 2027 listings.

Banking

Pay posted on each firm's own internship listing
FirmInternshipPosted payWhere
Piper SandlerInvestment banking summer analyst (Financial Sponsors; Restructuring)$110,000 a yearNew York
Deutsche BankInvestment Bank and Capital Markets summer analyst (capital markets desks)$110,000 a yearNew York
PJT PartnersPJT Camberview summer analyst (shareholder activism and governance advisory)$120,000 a yearSan Francisco
CitiWealth summer analyst$100,000 a yearNew York
TruistStructured Credit summer analyst$48 an hourAtlanta

Investing and trading

Pay posted on each firm's own internship listing
FirmInternshipPosted payWhere
BlackstoneReal Estate Asset Management summer analyst$110,000 a yearNew York
BlackstoneFinance, Portfolio Management summer analyst$90,000 a yearMiami
Point72Investment Services intern$90,000 a yearNew York
Two SigmaQuantitative researcher intern (bachelor's degree rate)$4,900 a weekNew York
CitadelFixed Income and Macro rotational trader intern$4,000 to $4,500 a weekNew York, Miami, Greenwich
D. E. ShawProprietary trading intern$25,000 a monthNew York

Consulting

Pay posted on each firm's own internship listing
FirmInternshipPosted payWhere
BainAssociate Consultant intern$9,000 a monthUnited States
DeloitteSummer Scholar, Functional and Operations Strategy$50 an hour16 US offices
Oliver WymanActuarial consulting intern (property and casualty)$1,350 to $1,600 a weekAtlanta, Charlotte and more

MBA summer associates

The banks that state a yearly rate for MBA and law school summer associates all post the same one: $175,000 a year, paid for the weeks worked. That is the rate on the Summer 2027 listings at Morgan Stanley, Wells Fargo, Guggenheim, Piper Sandler and Truist Securities.

What schools report

Internship pay that schools publish for their own undergraduates. These cover every student who reported pay, not one firm.

Undergraduate internship pay, as published by each school
SchoolFieldPayStudents
Texas McCombs (BBA)
Summer 2024 to Spring 2025
Investment banking, sales and tradingMedian $8,877 a month104
Texas McCombs (BBA)
Summer 2024 to Spring 2025
Strategy, operations and management consultingMedian $7,167 a month79
Texas McCombs (BBA)
Summer 2024 to Spring 2025
Investment management and researchMedian $5,200 a month42
Texas McCombs (BBA)
Summer 2024 to Spring 2025
Venture capital and private equityMedian $3,467 a month24
Indiana Kelley
Class of 2026
Finance majorsAverage $36 an hourNot stated
Emory Goizueta (BBA)
Class of 2026
All internshipsMedian $36 an hourNot stated
UVA McIntire
Class of 2026
All internshipsAverage $34 an hourNot stated
Minnesota Carlson
2024 to 2025
ConsultingAverage $30.21 an hourNot stated
Minnesota Carlson
2024 to 2025
FinanceAverage $26.66 an hourNot stated

How we got these numbers

We read the Summer 2027 internship listings on the career sites of 45 banks, investment firms, hedge funds and consulting firms on October 13, 2026, and the internship pay reports of 15 business schools. A firm is listed only when its own listing states a pay figure and what it is per. Goldman Sachs, Evercore, Houlihan Lokey and Raymond James post figures without saying whether they are yearly, so we left them out rather than guess. J.P. Morgan, Moelis, Centerview, McKinsey and BCG had no figure on the pages we could load. Pay can differ by group, office and year, so treat these as the posted rate, and check your own offer letter.

Questions

How much do investment banking summer analysts make?

A yearly rate of about $110,000, paid for the weeks of the internship. Piper Sandler posts $110,000 for its Financial Sponsors and Restructuring summer analysts and Deutsche Bank $110,000 for its capital markets summer analysts, both for Summer 2027 in New York. Texas McCombs reports a $8,877 monthly median across 104 of its banking, sales and trading interns (Summer 2024 to Spring 2025).

Is the yearly figure what I get for the summer?

No. Most banks state the base as a yearly rate and pay it only for the weeks you work, usually about ten. The postings say so (Deutsche Bank calls it an annualized salary, Point72 says it is prorated). Bonuses, housing and overtime are not in these figures.

What do consulting interns make?

Bain posts $9,000 a month for Associate Consultant interns in the US. Deloitte estimates $50 an hour for its Functional and Operations Strategy Summer Scholars. Texas McCombs reports a $7,167 monthly median for its strategy, operations and management consulting interns. McKinsey and BCG do not post a number on the listings we checked.

What do hedge fund and trading interns make?

The most of any internship here. Two Sigma posts $4,900 a week for quantitative research interns with a bachelor's degree, Citadel $4,000 to $4,500 a week for rotational trader interns, and D. E. Shaw $25,000 a month for proprietary trading interns, plus a sign-on bonus.

What do MBA summer associates make?

$175,000 a year at Morgan Stanley, Wells Fargo, Guggenheim, Piper Sandler and Truist Securities, on their Summer 2027 listings.

Where do these numbers come from?

From the pay ranges firms post on their own Summer 2027 internship listings, which pay transparency laws in New York, California, Colorado and Illinois require, and from internship pay that business schools publish for their own students. We only include a figure when the source says what it is per (hour, week, month or year). We never convert one unit into another.

Which firms hire from your school?

See how many alumni from your school work at the banks, consulting firms and PE firms on this page, and at which ones. Free, no account.

Look up your schoolParent? Look up your kid's school

Get the conversations that lead to these internships

Paperclip emails analysts and associates at the firms you want from your own inbox every weekday, alumni from your school first, and follows up. You take the calls.

Start 14 days free

Full-time pay is on the entry-level salaries guide.

Related guides